THE MYRTLE HALFORD TROPHY



Karana Downs Garden Club Inc. was officially formed in 1989 though it started unofficially the previous year. Our Display / Competition Table began with two sections in 1990/1991.

Myrtle Halford was a foundation member of our Garden Club (she had great gardening skills) and helped establish a format - some of which is still used today.

Myrtle died in January 1992 after a battle with lymphoma. The Display / Competition Table was by this time proving encouraging and popular. Helen Hepburn suggested that a perpetual trophy be established in Myrtle's memory. *This was to be awarded to the overall winner who had accumulated the greatest number of points throughout the year*.

Several of our members were keen and efficient needleworkers, including Myrtle, so it seemed appropriate that the trophy reflect this. Helen suggested a cross-stitch tapestry. Myrtle's daughter, Carole Scheinpflug worked the Graham Ross orchid design. The inaugural winner of this trophy was appropriately Helen Hepburn.

1992	Helen Hepburn	2015	Erin Falvey
1993	Peter Boddington	2016	Erin Falvey
1994	Lorna Baker	2017	Veronica Lawson
1995	Helen Jackson	2018	Erin Falvey
1996	Shirley Falvey	2019	Kath Stumer
1997	Barbara O'Connor	2020	Not awarded due to Covid-19
1998	Daph Astill and Susan Stewart	2021	Veronica Lawson
1999	Daph Astill	2022	Lesley Holt
2000	Julie Minisini	2023	Judy Barralet
2001	Myrtle Neumann		
2002	Judy Camplin		
2003	Julie Minisini		
2004	Annette Jones		
2005	Carol Scheinpflug		
2006	Annette Jones		
2007	Joh Matulich		
2008	Kerry Faber		
2009	Judith Frost		
2010	Judith Frost		
2011	Hazel Newman		
2012	Kath Stumer		
2013	Hazel Newman		
2014	Maryian Jack		

Winners of the Myrtle Halford Trophy: